Monday, November 19, 2018

ROLL- PS’s from the East African states that form the Lake Victoria Basin during the signing ceremony of the policy report that will guide the operations of th LVBC in Mwanza, Tanzania.

The 18th Sectoral Council of Ministers for the lake Victoria Basin kicked off in Mwanza Tanzania with Principal and Permanent Secretaries from East Africa Community (EAC) member’s states endorsing diverse projects affecting millions of residents in the region.

The Principal Secretary for Environment Mr. Charles Sunkuli  chaired yesterday  the Kenya delegation evaluation  meeting, attended by Prof. Fred Sigor Principal Secretary for Water and M/s Betty Maina Principal Secretary for East Africa Community Integration at the Malaika Beach Hotel.

The Kenyan delegation comprising various senior government officials and professionals in assorted fields endorsed projects and programs implemented in the country and jointly financed by the World Bank, donors and the government through the Lake Victoria basin Commission (LVBC).

The PS’s evaluated their various country programs and projects under Finance and Administration for onward transmission to the Council of Ministers who if in agreement would present them to the EAC Summit comprising the regions heads of state for concurrence.

Delegations from United Republic of Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi all negotiated for their respective country programs and projects that are at various stages of implementation.

It is a common practice for EAC partner states to regularly evaluate and negotiate funding of the projects and programmes implemented under the Lake Victoria Basin Commission.

The more than 40 million residents of Lake Victoria basin expect to improve their livelihoods from a myriad activities initiated to make the region an economic hub for growth in East Africa.

The Kenyan delegation evaluated projects and programs regarding environmental management, water and sanitation, health and population. Others include management of ecosystems and transboundary natural resources, maritime transport and communication for safety, integrated water resources management, pipelines among others.

The Sectoral Council of Ministers that directs actions for the Commission is expected to hold a meeting Friday 23rd June to adopt the recommendations of the principal and permanent secretaries.

A group photo of the Kenyan delegation to the 18th. SECOM meeting in Mwanza, TZ.


Weather Review

Review of October-November-December (OND) 2018 rainfall season and forecast for November- December 2018 …Read more    

Government extends Moratorium on Logging

Extension of the Moratorium on logging activities in Public and Community Forests…..Read More


This Invitation for Tenders is open to all tenderers eligible as described in the Invitation to Tender. Successful tenderers shall […]


| (687)
About NETFUND (1)
Function of NEMA (1)
Meteorology (2)
NEC (1)
NEMA (1)
NET (1)
PCC (1)
Public Weather Services (1)
The Department (1)

WP Cumulus Flash tag cloud by Roy Tanck requires Flash Player 9 or better.