Wednesday, May 12, 2021

3rd July, 2018

Cabinet Secretary Keriako Tobiko receives the NCCAP 2018-2022 draft report from Principal Secretary Charles Sunkuli in the Ministry’s boardroom today. Looking on are the joint secretaries Dr. Pacifica Ogola and Ste

Principal Secretary Charles Sunkuli today handed over the National Climate Change Action Plan – 2018-2022 to the Cabinet Secretary Keriako Tobiko in a ceremony witnessed by taskforce members, ministry officials and development partners.

Tobiko thanked the taskforce for their commitment and hard work that enabled them to deliver amid strict deadlines. He noted that the Plan was largely financed by partners and also thanked them for their assistance in addressing climate change that is both a cross cutting issue and a global phenomenon.

He regretted that those who suffer from the effects of climate change are not the ones who are responsible for destruction of the environment. He squarely blamed the greedy and corrupt people in the society for the current mess. He was categorical that unless this is corrected now, the consequences will be felt by future generations.

Tobiko reminded those present that there is political good will from the government to ensure finalization and implementation of the process. He expressed confidence that the success of this Plan will be one of the legacy agendas of the President as he underscores the centrality of environment in the realization of the Big 4 agenda.

‘Environment is the bedrock of the Big 4 agenda and none of them can exist unless founded on a clean, safe and secure environment’, emphasized Tobiko adding that mainstreaming of climate change in the ministry’s performance contract tells of the seriousness of the subject.

The Principal Secretary who is also the chair of the taskforce said that the NCCAP 2018- 2022 will be subjected to high level validation for ownership, buy in and endorsement by high policy makers. Thereafter, the document will be finalized and submitted to the National Climate change Council that is chaired by H.E the President for approval.

The Plan was developed by a taskforce that was commissioned in November, 2017 and which started its work in earnest on 12th February 2018 amid strict deadlines.

It is chaired by Principal Secretary Charles Sunkuli. Dr. Pacifica Ogola and Stephen King’uyu are joint secretaries.


Comments are closed.


. (1,013)

WP Cumulus Flash tag cloud by Roy Tanck requires Flash Player 9 or better.