Wednesday, September 28, 2022

The Ministry has the following directorates and departments:

  1. Directorate of Environment

The Directorate provides policy guidance, coordination, supervision and advises on issues relating to the Environment and related statutes, their interpretation, application and implications. It provides coordination between the Ministry and various agencies, regional and international bodies on environmental matters. The Departments within the Directorate are as follows;

          i) Department of Policy Formulation, Interpretation and Implementation

The Department’s mandate is to oversee environmental and forestry policy formulation, interpretation and implementation. Further, the department coordinates the review and harmonization of all Acts, statutes, policies, rules and regulations related to environment and forestry in liaison with other relevant departments and agencies.

      ii) Department of Multilateral Environmental Agreements (MEAs)

The department is mandated to provide leadership and guidance on negotiation and implementation of Multilateral Environment Agreements (MEAs); treaties, protocols, strategies and other global environment governance initiatives; provide technical advice to the government on its obligations and implications of ratifying environmental conventions, treaties and agreements in the context of Chapter 1 Article 2 subsection 6 of the Constitution. Further the ddepartment oversee and coordinates country’s participation and engagement in multilateral negotiations and other processes in the international, regional and national levels, and mobilizing financial and technical resources availed through global MEAs financing mechanisms.

      iii) Department of Programmes, Projects and Strategic Initiatives

The department’s mandate is to provide leadership in environmental issues through technical oversight, coordination of programs and projects, proposing strategic interventions in environment, resource mobilization for programs and projects, environment donor coordination and environment stakeholder forums. The department also provides leadership in the coordination and management of trans-boundary environmental and natural resource programs and projects.

   iv) Department of Ecological Restorations

The department oversees and provides leadership in the implementation of the rehabilitation and restoration of urban river basins.

   v) Kenya Meteorological Department

The department is responsible for the provision of meteorological and climate information and services to various sectors including agriculture, energy generation, aviation, marine transport, health, disaster management, water resources development and management among others.

2.Directorate of Forestry Conservation

The department is mandated to formulate, interpret, monitor and coordinate forestry conservation strategic policies; develop, review and monitor the implementation of the national forestry conservation and management strategy; ensure sustainable exploitation, utilization, management and conservation of forestry resources, and ensure equitable sharing of the accruing benefits;

3.Directorate of Climate Change

The Directorate was established under Climate Change Act of 2016, and is mandated to provide vision, leadership, guidance and coordination on matters relating to climate change in the country.  It is the lead agency of Government on national climate change plans and actions to deliver operational coordination.

4.Administration and Support services

The department coordinates and provides support services to facilitate the realization of the strategic objectives of the ministry.  It comprises of the following departments: Administration, Planning, ICT, Finance, Accounts, Records Management, Human Resource Management, Human Resources Development, Public Communications, Internal Audit, and Procurement.




. (1,041)

WP Cumulus Flash tag cloud by Roy Tanck requires Flash Player 9 or better.